Home People Research Seminars Local Contact Links

The Astronomy Group seminars are usually organised every second week during the academic semester.

Time: Wednesday afternoons from 16:00-17:00.

Location: Media Room (E39; go up one floor from the Hicks building main entrance on Hounsfield Road,
enter the Physics and Astronomy department double doors, and turn left almost at the end of
the main corridor into a side corridor [after the lift]; E39 is on your left after the next set of double doors).

Contact: Thijs Kouwenhoven, T.Kouwenhoven@sheffield.ac.uk

Autumn semester 2004/2005


  • Wednesday 22 September 2004

    Dr. Simon Clark (UCL)

    Westerlund 1: A Super-Star Cluster within the Milky Way


  • Wednesday 6 October 2004

    Dr. Philip Best (Royal Observatory Edinburgh)

    The host galaxies and environments of radio-loud AGN


  • Wednesday 20 October 2004

    Dr. Boris Gänsicke (Warwick)

    Observational studies of cataclysmic variable evolution


  • Wednesday 3 November 2004

    Dr. Raffaella Morganti (NFRA, Netherlands)

    Central regions of AGN probed by the Neutral Hydrogen


  • Wednesday 17 November 2004

    Dr. Genevieve Parmentier (Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge)

    Self-enrichment in Galactic globular clusters


  • Wednesday 1 December 2004

    Mr. Michael Bellamy (Sheffield)

    Hydrogen behaving oddly: fueling and feedback in Cygnus A


  • Wednesday 15 December 2004

    Cancelled


  • Wednesday 12 January 2005    DEPARTMENTAL COLLOQUIUM

    Prof. Ian Smail (ICC, University of Durham)

    Progress in understanding SCUBA galaxies


  • Friday 21 January 2005 at 14:00

    Prof. Henny Lamers (Utrecht University, Netherlands)

    The most metal poor stars in the Universe, interstellar depletion, mass loss from Sirius, mass transfer in binaries, comets around Beta Pictoris, and everything in between


  • Wednesday 26 January 2005

    (postponed)


  • Wednesday 9 February 2005

    Dr. Anne Green (Sheffield)

    WIMP hunting: directly detecting dark matter