Home People Research Seminars Local Contact Links

The Astronomy Group seminars are usually organised every second week during the academic semester.

Time: Wednesday afternoons from 16:00-17:00.

Location: Media Room (E39; go up one floor from the Hicks building main entrance on Hounsfield Road,
enter the Physics and Astronomy department double doors, and turn left almost at the end of
the main corridor into a side corridor [after the lift]; E39 is on your left after the next set of double doors).

Contact: Thijs Kouwenhoven, T.Kouwenhoven@sheffield.ac.uk

Spring Semester 2008


  • Wednesday 20th February 2008

    Dr. Patricia Sanchez-Blazquez(UCLAN)

    "Kinematic and Stellar Population Gradients as Fingerprints of Past Mergers in Elliptical Galaxies"


  • Wednesday 5th March 2008

    Departmental Colloqium


  • Wednesday 12th March 2008

    Dr. John Eldridge(IoA Cambridge)

    "Massive binaries: locally, at high redshift and as supernova progenitors"


  • Wednesday 9th April 2008

    Dr. Willem-Jan de Wit(University of Leeds)

    "Formation of massive stars in the infrared at high angular resolution"


  • Wednesday 30th April 2008

    Departmental Colloquium: Prof. Alan Watson, FRS(University of Leeds)

    "Is the search for the origin of the highest energy cosmic rays over?"


  • Wednesday 7th May 2008

    Prof. Ian Bonnell(University of St. Andrews)

    "Star Formation in Spiral galaxies"


  • Wednesday 14th May 2008

    Dr. Chris Simpson(Liverpool John Moores University)

    "Radio Observations of the Cosmic X-ray Background"


  • Wednesday 21st May 2008

    Dr. Brent Groves(Leiden University)

    "The Spectral Energy Distribution of Starburst Galaxies"


  • Wednesday 11th June 2008

    Dr. Christian Knigge(Southampton University)

    "The Evolution of Cataclysmic Variables"


  • Wednesday 18th June 2008

    Prof. Li Chen(Shanghai Astronomical Observatory, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

    "Galactic Open Clusters and the LOCS Project"


  • Wednesday 9th July 2008

    Mr. James Mullaney(Durham University)

    "Complexities of the emission line regions of AGN"